Copyright Photographs, Copyright Songs, Copyright Manuscripts

One of the points that I’ve been asked about the most in my career is how do I copyright photographs” or “how do I copyright songs?

I of course have always said that they automatically own copyright, but I know that they would have a problem proving that in court. The answer would be to have a completly independent third party verify the time and date that they created their files.

Over the weekend a friend showed me this site called ProveMyCopyright.com which does exactly that. My favourite thing about it is that it does it completly over the internet so you don’t have to wait four to six months to get registered. Also they offer 5Gb of account space for file backups and copyright which I think is great, even more than wordpress allows, but with copyright registration too.

Leave a comment